Do You Believe in Yourself?

Michelle Latocha
5 min readOct 7, 2020

A lot of what we do with our online fitness classes comes from motivation-intrinsic or extrinsic! How do we find the motivation to get up workout and master our daily routine?

As I was thinking about what to talk about, I thought….what has helped me fit in fitness? I want to say “FIT IN” because everyone has busy schedules. It’s not something like, “Oh, my schedule is empty and I’m, you know, running to work out anytime every day”. That’s not true in our world today.

We all have things going on in our life, but what has made fitness a priority is that I believe in it. I believe it helps me and I really want to help others feel the same way. It has helped in my darkest times and in my happiest. It always makes me feel better and that’s all I am going for. Be a bit better each day.

Do you believe in yourself? This is something that I think about every day-do I believe in myself enough to know that I can reach my goals? There was a time I did not believe in myself (you can read My Story in my previous blog). And because of the mindset work I do daily, I feel belief is something YOU NEED. Do you believe in yourself enough to say, “Hey, listen, this is going to make me a better person. It won’t always be easy but it sure will be worth it.” Sometimes you just need to know that you can do anything if you just Believe. We tell our kids all the time to believe in magic or what ever your family values are. So why is it so hard to use that belief on yourself. I will tell you why…..SELF-DOUBT!

Let’s use the example of learning to ride a bike. You may have been 6 or 7 and your parents believed you could do it but you were scared and didn’t believe in yourself. But with the support of your parents, practice and your mindset changing, you did learn and you have been riding ever since. I think of this example when I come to a crossroad of something being very difficult. It is easy to say…”I can’t!” but what if you said, “I will try!” These slight changes in wording can have a huge effect on the outcome.

In order to overcome self-doubt, you need to start believing in yourself. This takes work. Just like riding the bike took practice, you too need to practice what you say to yourself and how you approach situations. Here are some steps to take to win back your belief in yourself!

  1. Identify what is holding you back from moving forward. This could be a past experience, childhood, or even not knowing where to start. You need to overcome the past and write out your goals for the future. Make sure they are SMART. Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Realistic, and Timed.

2. Start a gratitude journal. Every day write down what you are thankful for and what you are willing to work on. Doesn’t need to be a novel but be honest and open with yourself. A grateful heart is a loving one.

This is my favourite journal and you can get it off Amazon

3. Find your “thing”. What is something you always wanted to do but never had the courage to follow through? Can be anything-cooking classes, a new fitness workout, a style of clothing. Jump out of your comfort zone and try something new so you can work through the practice phase and have patience with yourself. Learning a new skill keeps you humble and it will strengthen your belief in yourself.

4. Do your best every day. We often say this to kids but adults need this too. Give of yourself fully and you will be fulfilled. If you don’t try to be the best version of yourself, you will not live fully. And this applies to everything. Cooking, cleaning, being with your kids-do it 100% and you will believe in your abilities.

So start believing you CAN DO IT and YOU WILL. Progress over perfection. One day at a time and if you feel like you need extra support, come join our community! We are always lifting each other up and keeping one another accountable.

www.beactivelivebetter.com

I believe in you.

Now you need to believe in yourself!

You got this!

XO

M

#belief #mindset #goals #onlinefitness #personaldevelopment #selfdoubt #loveyourself #momboss #gratitude #loving #newskill #communitysupport

--

--

Michelle Latocha

Michelle empowers busy women to live their best life through health and fitness. She has an online fitness studio and offers confidence coaching for women